IHOP plays chicken with the humane



IHOP, the International House of Pancakes, in Huntsville, Alabama is my favorite eating place. I meet friends there. One friend and I usually eat there together once a month. The waiters are friendly and competent; the manager always ready to right any mistake in a friendly, homespun manner. I have a habit of eating one item, the same item each time. I order the spinach omelet; of course, you get pancakes. Their coffee is okay. This is a good evaluation from someone who grinds his own beans and makes coffee in a French Press at home. I drink my coffee black no sweetener.

Now I have the knowledge from many sources, including Bill Maher who I respect, that IHOP gets its eggs from a source that crowds the hens into tiny filthy space shared with other hens. That the conditions are dirty and cramped is asserted by the Humane Society. They back their assertions with facts.

I have a personal relationship with an Ihop here in Huntsville, Alabama; they are friendly an respectful to me and my friends.
I called the IHOP customer line –
866-444-5144 –
this morning to state my concerns and hope that they would switch to eggs from cage free hens. The woman who answered, though not belligerent, was adversarial. She stated that experts disagreed on how livestock was to be treated. She had not had her coffee this morn.

I am upset mainly for the inconvenience. I have to find another coffee shop to eat out in.

Visit the Humane Society’s computers for more information, link below:

http://www.humanesociety.org/issues

Understand, it is not only the humane treatment of the egg laying hens; dirty conditions introduce the possibility of disease. I want to eat in a place where the sources of livestock are clean and humane. I don’t want IHOP to poison me or anyone else.

Call them and protest if you agree.

Powered by ScribeFire.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

